Skip to main content 

The meaning of the Cummins model names - amp

Welcome you're on our amp page explaining - the meaning of Cummins engine model names

Inter Club Navigation
 Home Page   Membership   Contact Us      Club Matters   Engine List   Technical  Videos 

Click for:
Info on
basic engine specs
Basic specs are free
 and open to everyone

They usually include
engine images, displacement, 
dimensions and weight, 
essential bolt tightening torques, 
characteristics of the engine 
e.g. its power and torque. 

Essential bolt torques are:
 main bearing cap bolts 
 connecting rod cap bolts
cylinder head bolt torques

Click for: Cummins engine specs   Click for: CAT Diesel engine Specs   Click for: Detroit Diesel specs   Click for: ADE diesel engine specs   Click for: Deutz diesel engine specs

Click for:
Info on
manuals and books

Get club membership for
engine manuals or parts books.

Subscribe for Membership 
if you need manuals 
on a continuous basis


Take a one week window
 if you only need manuals 
 for a specific engine.


What do the Cummins Engine Names mean? - amp

Click image:
to view Cummins 4BTA engine
click text to close
Click for:
Other Diesel Engine
manuals and specs

Cummins Engine Names. What do the mean?

A = water Aftercooled engine
as in 4BTA3.9

But AA = Air Aftercooled engine, or charge air cooling
as in 4BTAA3.9

and NA = Naturally Aspirated

B = B series engines
includes 3.3, 3.9, 4.5 and 5.9 liter engines.
both fully mechanical and electronic models.
industrial and automotive versions.

C = C series engines Only 8.3 liter engines. both fully mechanical and electronic models. industrial and automotive versions.

E = electronic engines. Older engine model designation meaning the engine is electronic. e.g. K2000E

I and IS
I/IS = Automotive engines that are electronically controlled.

IS = Interact System (e.g. ISX, ISB, ISL) Interact System meaning that the engine is capable of interacting with the transmission and other electronically controlled devices in the truck or bus.

K = K series engines Includes 19, 23, 38, 45, 50 and 60 liter engine models.

L = L series engines Includes older 10 liter and current 9 liter engine models. industrial and automotive versions.

M = M series 11 liter engines Industrial and automotive versions.

N = N series engines Includes N855 and N14 engines. Still Available from Cummins China and other countries but no longer produced for U.S., Japanese and Euro markets.

Q and QS
Industrial engines that are electronically controlled.

T = T series engines The T in electronic engine names is part of the actual engine model e.g. the QST30.

However in mechanically controlled engines
The T = Turbo e.g. 6BT

X = X series engines Only 15 liter engines.
Industrial and automotive versions available.

A couple of examples:
6CTA = 6 cylinder, 8.3 liter, turbocharged, aftercooled engine
ISM11 = automotive, electronic interact system, 11 liter engine
ISX15 = automotive, electronic interact system, 15 liter engine
QSX15 = industrial, electronic, 15 liter engine

Other Engine Terms:
Numbers Before
If a number comes first in the engine name it indicates the number of cylinders. e.g. 6BT = 6 cylinders, 4BT = 4 cylinders.

Numbers After
If a number comes last in the engine name e.g. the 3.9 in the model 4BTA3.9 the 3.9 = the displacement in liters

 Membership - Sign Up  More about Membership  Login 
Home Page 
  Home - Desktop    Home - Mobile 
Engine List 
  Engine List - Desktop    Engine List - Mobile 
Club Matters
More About Us  Terms and Conditions  Acknowledgements  Site Map  Privacy Policy 

Page Revision #6.3RsC AMP 02-19